Replacing the Headlight Trim Rings on a Triumph TR3A

My TR3A did not have the right trim rings when I bought it, nor did I have the right ones in my parts stash.  The piece that holds the headlights in was also in bad shape, so I ordered those too.

There are a bunch of choices, and I was able to identify the right ones from the Roadster Factory Catalog, for a TR3A.  Initially I was confused because one part was not in the catalog, the chrome retaining rings (third arrow in from the right below).  I ordered by part number and I was OK.

Check the Roadster Factory Catalog for help identifying your TR3.  For me, in total for this job, from inside to outside, I needed from left to right, as per arrows above…

2 – LU54520919 Rubber gaskets, headlamp to body  (my commission number is after TS32585

2  –  LU54521913  Chrome Lamp Retaining Rings

2  –   LU552906 Rubber Gaskets, dust excluder, goes just inside outer trim ring

2 – LU54520443  Chrome Snap on Rings

I had already stripped down, derusted (very little rust) the headlight bucket, and painted it.  My wiring harness and the paint immediately around it was in great shape, so I left it in place and masked around it.  It is important I found to make sure that the outer rim of the headlight bucket is straight and true, or the gasket between the bucket and the body will not be trapped snug, but rather have gaps.  Here is my first attempt.  Note the gap at the bottom.

I removed the bucket, and straightened both the round section of the front apron, and the bucket to get the gap to close up.  I didn’t get all of it, but most of it.  I will wait till I paint it again to fix it completely.  I was a little worried if I bent it anymore, I would have cracked the paint.

Here are the specs on a tool for removing the Chrome Trim Ring if you want to make your own.   Or buy one from The Roadster Factory.

20191130_153120[1]

 

A couple of tricks I figured out…

First, Mark The Alignment of the Chrome Trim Ring

Before you mess with the dust excluder gasket (the outermost gasket), do a test fit of the Chrome Trim Ring to mark the alignment while it is easy to see the clip engaged at the bottom.   Put a couple of pieces of tape across both the trim ring and back onto the apron. Cut the tape, and use those to get the alignment right for the little clip at the bottom.  Then remove the Chrome Trim ring again to put on the dust excluder.

 Getting the Dust Excluder Gasket on properly.

I tried a number of “orientations” of this gasket, and it didn’t seem right until I figured it out.   Place the gasket on the chrome retainer ring with the cutout for the clip aligned at the bottom, and with the outer “flange” forward as in the picture.

Turn the thick band at the bottom, the part that is on the retainer ring, so it lays like the picture below. It is a little finicky.  Be sure to rotate the gasket so the slot for the clip at the bottom is lined up right.

Installing the Chrome Trim Ring, Aligning the Clip

Put some tape on the headlight, showing where the clip is.  Now line up the two pieces of tape on the Ring, and install the Chrome Trim Ring.  ((I f0rgot to take a picture.  This should be obvious)

Press, and keep checking with a flashlight to see if the clip engaged. It is hard to feel when it goes in. But you can just barely see in there to see the two “teeth” of the clip wrap very slightly around the square “tab” of the chrome rim.  I did NOT feel a click or other indicator it engaged.

And you are done!

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment